TENSE REACTION/MILKMAN
Split 10" (Bong)


Straight up brutal thrash from the Netherlands that continues the fine tradition those crazy Dutch punks have for heads down and balls to the floor lightening fast thrash. Tense Reaction continue the good work from last year`s 7" with a collection of hopping mad mantras that will have you digging out your Mihoen, Cockroach and BSE 7"s. Maybe then a go on those two CD`s Dan Dare put out.
MilkMan on the flip are more of the same but with a more 80`s sorta feel. They aren`t any happier with the state of the world either and six rampant ragers rush by ripping your chops off. Fab.
All I want from hardcore punk is encapsulated on this `ere record.

STAR WARS Rating: "Bounty Hunters! We don`t need that scum!"




Tense Reaction / Milkman (yellow)

Super pissed of raging hardcore from these scene-veterans. Milkman have been playing their no-frills 80ies style hardcore for years now, and they keep the energy going. Tense Reaction are even more ferocious, and have some very cool and weird guitar parts. Hardcore is not just for the kids anymore, haha. Fucking power.




MILKMAN:
Is This Punk Enough For You?: CD


Nothing like a dose of speedy Dutch hardcore to get the blood bumping while you’re at work waiting for the leader of your country to break damn near every international law available and wave his middle finger at the rest of the world by engaging in the business of “regime change.” This is really good stuff here and fans of DS-13 and the like should take note. –Jimmy Alvarado




Milkman - 15 Years Of Hell

Milkman, one of the oldest (in age and existence) and fastest hardcore punk bands from the Netherlands is celebrating their 15 year existence in 2009. And what better way to celebrate this 15 year existence than with the release of a new Milkman double CD called “15 years of Hell”. 15 years of hell contains 9 brand new milkman songs, older songs recorded again to give a good overview of Milkman’s 15 year career and 2 complete live sets.




MILKMAN – ‘FIFTEEN YEARS OF HELL’ DOUBLE CD

To celebrate MILKMAN’s fifteen years of killer ‘80’s style hardcore Shield have released this awesome double CD set that includes their brand new, fifth studio album following the great ‘Nostalgiator’ a couple years back (also on Shield), eleven re-recorded older cuts and two complete live sets with really quality recording and mixing making a total of 62 tracks on two discs...what a package! If you are unfamiliar with Dutch hardcore powerhouse, you badly need to get with the program – pure US ‘80’s influenced hardcore reminiscent of D.R.I., S.O.D., THE F.U.’S, POISON IDEA, THE FARTZ, GANG GREEN, MUNICIPAL WASTE etc...yes, this is fucking great and they nail it perfectly. These guys are still ripping after 15 years with no sings of slowing down which is just great to hear...this is bursting with power and energy and it’s crystal clear that MILKMAN will be shredding for quite some years to come. Excellent.
Shield Recordings




Milkman - Fifteen Years Of Hell

Es braucht nicht mehr als eine Minute und dreizehn Sekunden um einem vorlauten Review Schreiber seine Arroganz ordentlich vor den Latz zu hauen. Die Niederländer Milkman haben aber auch eine Vorliebe entwickelt, den Hörer mit ihren Plattencovern in die Irre zu führen. Vor einem quietschend gelben Hintergrund grinst ein Lego Männchen neben mehr oder weniger hässlich arrangierten, ausgeschnittenen Buchstaben in die Welt. Erster Eindruck: eine mindestens drittklassige Hinterhofband bringt in einem Anfall von Größenwahn eine Best Of heraus, die eh niemand außer ihren Freunden kaufen wird. So leicht irrt man sich, denn kaum ist die erste CD eingeschoben, verstummt der einst vorlaute Schreiber und lässt sich von feinstem Thrash und Hardcore im Sinne alter DRI, MDC und Poison Idea die Rübe polieren.

Vergesst das Cover, oke das Poster mit der Hardcore Show komplett aus Lego gebaut macht einiges her, vergesst den nichtsagenden Namen, lasst die Musik sprechen. Darauf kommt es seit immerhin 15 Jahren bei Milkman an und das wird mit dieser Doppel CD, bestehend aus insgesamt 21 Neuaufnahmen und einigen neuen Songs im aktuellen Soundgewand, zwei kompletten Live Shows und einigen Videos, gebührend gefeiert. Value for money also. Auch wenn die Songs genau so auch vor gut 25 Jahren entstanden sein könnten, sie wirken aktuell wie eh und je, versprühen eine Energie die gute 90 Prozent der aktuellen möchtegern Tough Guys aussehen lässt wie Grünschnäbel und bringen mit herrlich kritischen und ironischen Texten auch in kürzester Zeit die Sache auf den Punkt. Klar sollte sein, dass Milkman hier das Rad nicht neu erfinden und in keinster Weise Interesse an irgendwelchen Experimenten haben. Es wird schlichtweg ein Haufen ehrlicher Songs mit intelligenten Texten geboten, die zeigen, wie richtiger Hardcore auszusehen hat. Auf weitere 15 Jahre Milkman.

Tracks:
CD1:
1. Ikke! Ikke! Ikke!
2. Boos 2.0
3. Mediagitis
4. Gezond
5. 0900-26675246
6. Fifteen Years Of Hell
7. Op VolleToeren
8. Blub De Gifkikker
9. Ho, Ho, Hotsee!
10. Istrumental
11. A Happy End
12. Mr. Deskman
13. Our Only Human Right
14. Hot Shot
15. Operation God Almighty
16. Brite
17. Philosophies 2009
18. Paaaiiin
19. Feeding The Bloodhounds
20. Skinflit
21. The Insalien

CD2: Live Tracks

Autor(en) Bartholomäus K.




MILKMAN
15 Years Of Hell


Format: 2CD
Label: Shield
Spielzeit: 80:17
Genre: Punkrock/Hardcore
Webseite: Shield Recordings

Wertung: 9/10

Thraaaassshh! Go! 15 Jahre sind eine lange Zeit für eine Band, die holländischen Sympathieträger MILKMAN haben durchgehalten und geben jetzt eine Werkschau. Dieses Werk ist glücklicherweise nie groß verändert worden und so spielen die vollkommen unterbewerteten Milchmänner immer noch unverbrauchten frischen Thrashcore Marke D.R.I., ASSERT oder BONES BRIGADE.

Elf neu eingespielte alte Songs reihen sich an neun neue, alles in bestechender Qualität Sound und Zusammenspiel betreffend, die Texte wie immer (szene)kritisch, aber aufgrund des fortgeschrittenen Alters der Herren mit reifer Distanz: “A joke is not always racism / Authority is not always fascism / Appreciating beauty is not always sexism / But your hunt for me is plain pure terrorism“.

Die Band spricht mir aus der Seele. Auf CD 2 zwei Gigs der Holländer, auf die Dauer zwar etwas eintönig, da immer demselben Schema folgend, aber mit mehr Energie im Arsch als 98 Prozent aller anderen Bands.

1, 2, 3, 4, go!
Dr. Oliver Fröhlich
© by Ox-Fanzine / Ausgabe #87 (Dezember 2009/Januar 2010)




Milkman - Fifteen Years Of Hell

cd, shield recordings

Het Tilburgse Milkman is één van de meest ondergewaardeerde hardcore bands uit Nederland. De heren timmeren al vijftien jaar lang aan de weg en hebben al de nodige releases uitgebracht, die bol staan van opgefokte hardcore in het straatje van bands als D.R.I., Poison Idea en M.D.C. Fifteen Years Of Hell is een release om de vingers bij af te likken.

De band pakt namelijk flink uit om het heugelijke feit te onderstrepen. Je krijgt negen nieuwe songs, elf oude songs zijn opnieuw opgenomen en op een tweede schijfje staan nog eens twee complete liveshows die erg goed klinken. In totaal 62 (!) tracks die tot op het bot gaan. Hopelijk gaat de band nog lang door, want Milkman levert pure klasse af. Pim Blankenstein




MILKMAN
15 Years Of Hell


Shield Recordings
Milkman bestaat 15 jaar. Reden genoeg om te feesten. De sympathieke Hollanders hebben sinds jaren een patent op pijlsnelle hardcore/punksongs, waar de liefde voor oude helden als Poison Idea en D.R.I. van afspat. Op dit dubbelalbum staan naast negen nieuwe songs en elf opnieuw opgenomen klassiekers, ook twee volledige livesets. De kwaliteit van het geluid is af en toe ondermaats, maar dat mag de pret niet ederven. De afwisseling van Nederlandstalige en Engelse teksten, was naast een onverwoestbare punkattitude en dito songteksten steeds het handelsmerk. Dat het nog vele jaren mag duren... (OC)




Milkman - Fifteen Years of Hell

Gepost door: Martijn van den Beukel
Zondag 15 November 2009 - 15:44

Shield Recordings, 2009

Wie Milkman ooit heeft gezien of gehoord, weet wat hem/haar te wachten staat als er weer een nieuwe schijf in de sleuf verdwijnt. Dit vierkoppige gezelschap speelt al weer vijftien jaar crossover thrash/hardcore in zijn snelste en meest opgefokte vorm. Het is voor liefhebbers van die beruchte bands als S.O.D., D.R.I., maar ook Municipal Waste en ons eigen The Butcher. Vijftien jaar Milkman moet gevierd worden en dat doet de band dan ook in de vorm van een volgestampte dubbelaar.

Van de 62 tracks die dit pakket kent, zijn er slechts negen stuks nieuw. Dat mag de pret echter totaal niet drukken want de eerste schijf voorziet ons naast het nieuwe materiaal ook van heropgenomen tracks. Deze songs (afkomstig van de demo It’s Not a Choice en de opvolgende platen Combover World, Fresh Fruit for Rotten Aliens en Is this Punk enough for You?) klinken nu als een verlengde van wat Milkman anno 2009 uitkakt, prima! Net als op Nostalgiator (2007) zijn vooral de Nederlandstalige songteksten weer om de vingers bij af te likken: brutaal, gevat, kurkdroog en gebracht met extreem fanatisme.

”Totale paniek, iedereen ziek. Thuis met de griep. Hieperdepiep

Je merkt het, Milkman is nog geen haar veranderd en de tweede schijf laat horen dat dit op het podium ook niet het geval is. Ongestoord en ononderbroken krijgt de luisteraar twee concerten uit respectievelijk 2008 en 2005 voorgeschoteld. De droge aankondigingen van zanger Meeri leggen dat onserieuze uiterlijk er nog eens dik bovenop en met vliegensvlugge nummers als Boos, Nostalgiator, Ben Ik Te Punk..? en zoveel meer, is het feest compleet... ook in de huiskamer.

Fans van deze band en dit genre schaffen dit aan. Je krijgt waar voor je geld, zowel muzikaal als wat betreft het uiterlijk van dit verzamelwerk. Van mij mag dit gezelschap nog wel eventjes doorgaan!


Tracklisting:

CD1
Ikke! Ikke! Ikke!
Boos 2.0
Mediagitis
Gezond?
0900-26675246
Fifteen Years Of Hell
Op Volle Toeren
Blub De Gifkikker
Ho, Ho, Hotseee!
Instrumental
A Happy End
Mr. Deskman
Our Only Right
Hot Shot
Operation God Almighty
Brite
Philosophies 2009
Paaaiiin
Feeding The Bloodhounds
Skinflint
The Insalien

CD2
Boos
Cup Of Punk
Golden Blues
Preparing For Attack
Lemmings (Marching To Their Deaths)
Four Letter Word Starting With F
Ben Ik Te Punk..?
Death Decision
Mustafa
Combover Man
Martha Lives
Teargas & Trains
Backache
Sunddeath
Saving Private Rambo
Nostalgiator
Don`t Cry For Me Political Arena
Writer`s Block
Feel The Greatness
Stille Tocht
I Cry For No One, But Myself
...En Brabant Had Als Eerste De Eer...
Unfounded
Soundcheck (Unfounded)
Saving Private Rambo
...En Brabant Had Als Eerste De Eer...
Skinflint
Golden Blues
Aging And Raging
Kangaroo Hop
Mustafa
Combover Man
Martha Lives
Teargas & Trains
Feel The Greatness
Stille Tocht
Backache
Sundeath
The Count Tofore
Never Out Of Nothing
I Cry For No One, But Myself

Line-up:
John - Bass
Meeri - Vocals
Sers - Drums
Robin - Guitars

Links:
Milkman
Milkman MySpace
Shield Recordings
Shield Recordings MySpace




Milkman “15 years of Hell”

MILKMAN, groupe punk rock hollandais, fête ses 15 ans d`existence. Pour ce faire il sorte un 2xCD nommé “15 years of Hell”. Un total de 62 titres dont 9 nouveaux.

L`album sortira sur Shield Recordings qui présente le groupe comme un bon mix de "DRI, SOD and Poison Idea".

Pour découvrir deux nouveaux titres de MILKMAN :
http://www.shieldrecordings.com/media
http://www.myspace.com/milkmanhardcore

.Julien




Milkman – 15 Years of Hell 2CD

Posted by Martijn On November - 12 - 2009

Milkman – 15 Years of Hell 2CD (Shield)
“Driving 50 Miles... for a crate of beer”. A couple of beers is what many punk- and hardcore bands get paid for working their asses off. Most throw in the towel after a few years, or hardly play outside their hometown anymore. Milkman however keep on playing, and have been for 15 years. To celebrate that fac,t the band could have recorded, let’s say, nine new songs. Oh wait, we do get nine new songs, recorded in August 00. No, no wait there’s also a bunch of songs recorded in May 09. And wait before you leave for the nearest record store; we also get a 12 songs taken from the bands demo and various CD releases. Right, well there you have it. Oh wait, there’s another cd which has 23 tracks recorded live in 2008. Why’s that cd still playing? The live songs are over. Oh right, you also get 18 tracks recorded live in 2005. Sixty-two furious crossover tracks by this great Dutch band. How’s that for a birthday treat. Thanks guys, and here’s to the next 15 years. Martijn Welzen




Milkman - Fifteen Years Of Hell

archiveer onder Punk / Hardcore

Koen: Onlangs het feit dat de Tilburgse hardcore band Milkman al een tijdje meedraait, hebben we tot nu toe bar weinig aandacht aan hen besteed binnen dit periodiekje. Dat zal dit viertal verder worst wezen denk ik want ze hebben nog steeds lol in zuipen, neuken, vreten, oefenen en optreden. Wat zou je anders verwachten van een stel veertigers? In elk geval werd het vijftienjarige bestaan van de band gevierd met een speciale show in 013, een nieuwe homepage en een nieuwe CD getiteld ‘Fifteen Years Of Hell’.

Dit is Milkman’s vijfde CD en om de verjaardag wat kracht bij te zetten werd maar meteen geopteerd voor een dubbelaar die bestaat uit negen nieuwe tracks, elf golden oldies en twee live sets. In totaal valt er dus van 62 nummers te genieten. En dat voor de meer dan redelijke prijs van slechts € 10,-, te verkrijgen via de website van het label. Ik vond Milkman’s vorige boreling ‘Nostalgiator’ al goed te pruimen en ik heb de heren gedurende de jaren ook al meerdere keren live gezien, dus het is geen verrassing voor me dat deze CD die tjokvol eighties hardcore is gepropt, mij zeer goed zou gaan bevallen. Verder geen gelul, kopen!

Score: 80/100




Nostalgiator (on Bol.com)

HARD!
Nieuwste cd van deze Nederlandse hardcorepunk veteranen. Nog steeds supersnel, maar wat meer afwisseling dan het oude materiaal. Beste tot nu toe dus, geweldig! Verplichte aanschaf voor liefhebbers van bands als DRI en SOD.




Is This Punk Enough (on Bol.com)

gas erop..!!
Vette, razendsnelle trash/hardcore/punk. Voor de liefhebbers van (de oude)D.R.I., Out Cold, Poison Idea, enz...




Milkman – 15 Years Of Hell

Geplaatst op 19 oktober 2009 om 16:21

Milkman, inmiddels al meer dan vijftien jaar een begrip in de hardcore/punk scene. In 1994 samengekomen als een haat-liefdesliedje tussen de bands S.R.V. en Kutnaam 1001 en vijftien jaar later nog steeds even sterk, snel en vooral hard als het om de muziek gaat. Ten ere van dit vijftienjarige bestaan moest natuurlijk een dubbel cd uitkomen, en wel genaamd 15 Years Of Hell. Deze bestaat uit 21 nummers nieuw materiaal en een cd compleet met een live optreden.


De normale cd zelf bestaat uit korte nummers, gemiddeld zo`n anderhalve minuut lang, maar dit is ook meer dan genoeg. De energie die het uitstraalt zorgt ervoor dat er geen ellenlange solos of constant herhalende gitaarriffs nodig zijn, gewoon straight forward hardcore/punk. Met Nederlandstalige maar ook Engelstalige nummers op de cd, geeft het 21 nummer lange album een sfeerimpressie zoals geen ander. Een van aandachtspunten op dit album is dat de live cd, die er als extra bij zit, bijna beter klinkt dan de cd zelf. Dit hoeft natuurlijk niet persé een minpunt te zijn, maar dat ligt aan de persoon die het luistert.

Over het algeheel een lekker luisterend album, als je natuurlijk van het genre houdt. Zo niet dan is het één grote bak herrie. Na de live cd geluisterd te hebben kan ik het me moeilijk voorstellen dat je de mannen niet live wil zien. Top plaatje!

Score: 4/5

Tekst: Lesley Klaverdijk




Milkman - 15 Years Of Hell

posted by: xbootsmanx on 14 October 2009

15 years of hell. That’s a long, long time if you don’t like what you are doing. But I bet these guys loved every second of it. Seeing kids and trends come and go, they stuck to their guns: relentlessly playing fast hardcore punk with lyrics in English and Dutch. Not always the hip thing to do but I bet they like the position of underdogs.
To celebrate their 15th anniversary these Tilburg punks recorded 9 new tracks and rerecorded 11 oldies but goodies. To make it really special, they also included a disc with two live recordings. Not at the Budokan in New York but at the legendary O.J.C. Jonosh in downtown Heusden and the closed down Lintfabriek in Kontich, Belgium. Both great live recordings!
Congratulations, guys!

Rating: 3,5/5




Milkman - Fifteen Years Of Hell

14-09-09 05:48:00 / door pureandsimple / band: Milkman / album: Milkman - Fifteen Years Of Hell (2009)

Toen menig punx.nl-bezoeker nog de broek volscheet en het woord `punk` nog niet eens kon schrijven waren deze mannen uit Tilburg al aan het thrashen en beuken. Heerlijk om te weten dat zulke goede dingen niet hoeven te veranderen door de jaren heen. Los van het feit dat de kwaliteit van de opnames (lees: sinds het aanschuiven bij de Shield Recordings familie) een stuk beter is geworden zijn er op muzikaal gebied bar weinig vernieuwende elementen in de sound van Milkman gekomen. Gelukkig ook maar! Wie wil er nou iets anders dan keihard razen geblazen met de band uit de 013-regio? Niemand toch?

Los van het feit dat Milkman mooi spul is voor de liefhebbers van pijlsnelle hardcorepunk met een thrashy inslag bestaat de band vijftien jaar. Om het hachelijke feit te vieren dat de levers van de vier heren het al zo lang hebben volhouden is er nu deze dubbelaar uitgekomen. Op cd één vinden we 21 nummers, waarvan zeker de helft oude nummers in een vers jasje zijn, die allemaal dit jaar zijn opgenomen. Goede geluidskwaliteit dus waardoor het een prima plaatje is geworden dat, niet in de laatste plaats door de eerste negen nooit eerder uitgebrachte nummers, voor zowel de nieuwe als de wat oudere aanhangers van Milkman de moeite waard is. Op de tweede cd vinden we opnames van een tweetal liveshows die samen een 41 nummers tellend cdtje maken. Ik had er eerlijk gezegd geen ene flikker van verwacht, maar ook daarvan is de kwaliteit van een dusdanig niveau dat het als meer dan een nutteloos extraatje moet worden opgemerkt. Zeker als je zelf bij de shows bent geweest is het uiteraard tof, maar het is ook fijn om te weten dat de band ook live het gas vol opentrekt.
De discussie of twee cd`s lang Milkman goed te trekken is kunnen we trouwens achterwege laten gezien het kleinood maar een tientje kost. Niet zeiken dus, maar gewoon binnenkort even oppikken. Op naar de volgende vijftien jaar!!

Score: 80/100

Vergeet ik nog te zeggen hoe stoer het artwork is. Nouja... Dat spreekt wel voor zich :-)

Er staan trouwens geen nummers van Nostalgiator, wat mij betreft de beste Milkman plaat, op deze plaat. Ook een album wat zeker de moeite waard is.




MILKMAN "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens"

2nd album by these Dutch thrashers. Think US 80`s hardcore like The Fartz, late FUs, or even Dead Kennedys. Fave!




MILKMAN "Nostalgiator"

4th album shows a more metal edge, still very hardcore. If you`re into Municipal Waste, or French Strong As Ten you might enjoy this one. 23 songs!




Milkman - Nostalgiator (2007)

martes 27 de enero de 2009

Puro Hardcore/Crossover, de bateria incansable...y que te remiten a bandas como Youth of Today, DRI, SOD...y Minor Threat.

Son de Holanda, donde el pasto esta legalizado (??????)




MILKMAN
"Nostalgiator" (Shield Rds - 2007)


posté le mardi 2 décembre 2008

Ces derniers temps, j’ai l’impression d’avoir constamment quelqu’un (dieu ?) en train de me pisser dessus. Sans pouvoir y échapper. Plus qu’à attendre que ça passe. Evidemment, c’est une image, dieu n’existe pas. Ou il est mort. Alors quoi ? Ça m’empêche pas d’être trempé.
Depuis que je suis ado, l’un des rayons de soleil qui permette d’éloigner cette pluie (jaune), c’est la musique.
Il peut y en avoir quelques autres, mais les bons disques sont à ma connaissance le meilleur remède accessible pour éclaircir les nuages. Ceux de MILKMAN, par exemple, mettent du baume au cœur tout en entretenant la rage. Et s’il est un peu moins bon que le précédent, ’Nostalgiator’ remplit tout autant son office que ’Is this punk enough for you ?’.
Sans trop de difficultés puisque je suis généralement sur la même longueur d’onde que ces sous-estimés anciens (’Aging and raging’ !). Sur les textes, déjà. Qu’ils traitent de sujets légers : le nationalisme dans "Four letter word, starting with F", notre sombre futur dans "Lemmings (marching to their deaths)"... Ou très sérieux : le petit monde du punk hardcore dans "Backache" ou "Cup of punk" (au passage, très bonne intro tough guy , un "True hardcore" parodique, et début du morceau enchaîné sur ces lignes : « Aw man, get your foot out of my ear / Are you trying to show your new footgear ? / And what’s that sound, this isn’t hardcore / Go practice those karate moves outdoors »).
Et sur la musique aussi on a de quoi s’entendre, du hardcore punk bien direct hérité des 80’s (« I love it loud and fast and hard and fast. Did I mention fast ? »). Les deux se rejoignent d’ailleurs : "Feel the greatness" est un hommage à POISON IDEA, "Join the army" un clin d’œil à KISS et si je parlais hollandais, je me retrouverais probablement au moins en partie dans "Nostalgiator" (après une intro à la SUICIDAL, les seuls mots compréhensibles par un non-néerlandophone sont CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER, POISON IDEA, WEHRMACHT, EXCEL, D.R.I., M.D.C. et S.O.D.).
On est même tellement sur la même longueur d’onde que, coïncidence pure, l’idée de l’intro de cette chronique se trouve être la même que pour "The day god died" ! Les grands esprits se rencontrent ?
www.myspace.com/milkmanhardcore

MONTAG


Babelfish maakt er dit van:

Deze laatste tijd heb ik de indruk om iemand (god?) voortdurend te hebben bezig om me boven pisser. Zonder er te kunnen ontsnappen. Meer dan om te wachten op dat dat voorbijgaat. Natuurlijk is het een beeld, de god bestaat niet. Of hij is gestorven. Dan wat? Dat verhindert me niet om gedoopt te worden. Sinds ik puber, een van de stralen zon ben die het mogelijk maakt om deze regen (geel) te verwijderen, is het de muziek. Er kan enkele anderen zijn er, maar de goede schijven zijn aan mijn kennis het beste toegankelijke middel om de wolken op te helderen. Die van MILKMAN, bijvoorbeeld, zetten van de balsem aan het hart erg door de woede te onderhouden. En als het iets minder goed is die de vorige, "Nostalgiator" vult alle net zoveel zijn dienst dan "Is this punker enough for you?". Zonder te veel moeilijkheden aangezien ik over het algemeen op dezelfde golflengte ben dan deze onderschat oud ("Aging and raging"!). Op de teksten, reeds. Dat zij lichte onderwerpen behandelen: het nationalisme in " Oven letter Word, starting with F" , onze sombere toekomst in " Lemmingen (marching to their deaths) " ... Of zeer ernstig: de kleine wereld van de punker hardcore in " Backache" of " Cup off punk" (in het voorbijgaan, zeer goede intro tough Guy, een " True hardcore" parodique, en het begin van het stuk dat op deze lijnen wordt vastgeketend: “Aw man, get your voetbal out off my ear/Are you trying to show your new footgear? /And what` s that sound, this isn` t hardcore/Go practice those karate moves outdoors“). En op de muziek eveneens heeft men waar van zich horen, van hardcore zeer rechtstreekse punker die van 80 ` s (“wordt geërftg, I IT loud and fast and hard and fast love. Did I vermelding fast? “). Beide keren zich trouwens naarterug: " Feel the greatness" is een hulde aan GIF IDEA, " Join the army" een knipoogje aan KISS en als ik Nederlands sprak, zou ik me waarschijnlijk minstens gedeeltelijk in " weer bevinden; Nostalgiator" (na een intro aan SUICIDAL, zijn de enige begrijpelijke woorden door nee-Nederlandstalig CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER, GIF IDEA, WEHRMACHT, EXCEL, D.R.I., M.D.C en S.O.D.). Men is zelfs zo op dezelfde golflengte dat, zuiver samenvallen, het idee van intro van deze kroniek zich wezen zelfde bevindt dan voor " The day god died" ! De grote geesten ontmoeten zich?




Is This Punk Enough For You - Milkman mp3

This is my favorite review of all times.
I stumbled onto some downloadsites who all sold our Is This Punk Enough For You? album.
Strange because we never authorized such thing.
The download quality is not the best.
And where does the money go to?
Definitely NOT to us!!!

Anyway
There was a review on one of those sites.
I don`t know who wrote it (or wrote the script that wrote it), but it is hilarious, so here it is:

Fence The Middle East - This happy song is an ode to optimism and an anthem. Milkman must have run out of lyrics on the next track Crossing The Line. Failed one of the best in my collection. Album opener Another Abduction is a bright, upbeat ditty. Golden Blues - Well, here we get a bit more meaning. Skinflint - A catchy, upbeat tune. Opening track Pink Heartshaped Ballon shows the best of Milkman. The Count is one of those songs that will put you in a good mood. Never Out Of Nothing make listening to Milkman like being in some sort of time warp. One of the more genuine-sounding songs is Martha Lives. To Hell In A Handbag sets the tone for the entire album. Multi Culti Sint is just simply stunning. It’s very catchy and easy to get into which is what you want in a song. Other tracks are good but your best bet is to stick with Hooligone. A World Without Zeros is a strong cut, one of many. Damage Done (1:13) a good melody. Sick Transit Gloria Meeri is a nice, innocuous song, and much better than anything Milkman released so far. Teargas & Trains defines beauty, yet is as unforgiving as an astringent stone. I like Planet Of The Fakes because it’s extremely catchy and has awesome drumming. This is one of those songs that musicians strive to write and create.




FRET

Milkman – Nostaligator
Shield Recordings


De hardcoreband Milkman is ontstaan uit leden van S.R.V en de zanger van Kutnaam 1001 en zijn inmiddels toe aan hun vierde album. Nostaligator bevat 23 songs en duurt toch maar 28 minuten! Het album opent met de midtempo track True Hardcore, die vanwege het “zware” geluid en gevloek nogal aan Biohazard doet denken. De rest van de nummers wordt gekenmerkt door supersnelle gitaarriffs en zeer snelle vocalen, waardoor de teksten helaas onverstaanbaar zijn, wat zelfs voor de 5 nederlandse songs geldt. Daarnaast lijken de nummers zoveel op elkaar dat ik vaak het idee had naar hetzelfde liedje te luisteren. Mij is het allemaal een beetje te rauw en wild, maar misschien ben ik niet hardcore genoeg??

(Martien Koolen)




Rock Tribune

MILKMAN
Nostalgiator
Shield)
80


Het Nederlandse Milkman heeft met "Nostalgiator" de perfecte titel gekozen voor hun nieuwe plaat. De punk/hardcore gaat helemaal terug naar de stijl van de jaren tachtig. Toen werd veel hardcore nog supersnel gespeeld en gezongen. Milkman grijpt terug naar die stijl, welke nog steeds als de beste kan omschreven worden. Het enige verschil met die bands van meer dan twintig jaar terug is dat "Nostalgiator" een vette sound en productie heeft meegekregen. Dat was vroeger bij formaties in dit genre wel eens dramatisch. Om het kort te houden, Milkman ramt er op deze plaat dan ook in sneltempo drieëntwintig songs door en dat op een tijdspanne van ongeveer achtentwintig minuten. Veel subtiele dingen hoef je dus niet te zoeken bij deze jongens die, aan de teksten te oordelen, aan heel wat zaken de pest hebben. De teksten worden deels in het Engels en Nederlands gezongen en zanger Meeri heeft dan ook de geknipte stem voor dit genre. Een steengoede plaat, die de oude tijden terug laat opleven.

Peter Vanhecke




Asice

Milkman – Nostalgiator
Shield recordings


Old, corpulent and with a silly accent. Milkman is back to prove that some extra years and baggage can`t slow them down. Still raging and aging, these dudes managed to cram 23 songs in less than 30 minutes on this not so nostalgic format. Whereas their old stuff suffered from poor production, this new record sounds fresh and really adds to the listenability of their fast hardcore punk. With the new sound they also found a new home on the Shield Recordings roster. New sound, new label, maybe some new listeners?
Luckily the music hasn’t changed at all. Milkman still draws its musical influences from a variety of styles such as fast hardcore, crossover trash and snotty punk rock that supports their angry and sometimes cynical lyrics really well. I find it inspiring that they don’t succumb to dumb party lyrics but still feel the need to speak out against war, organized religion and the current state of our world/nation. It doesn’t read like poetry but at least it’s honest.
Good stuff!

Peter Bootsman




Poison Free

Milkman - nostalgiator
Category: reviews


This Dutch band is very likeable to me, since the first time I have seen their cover artwork. To me it’s a mixture of S.O.D. and old Sodom Covers. Atomic spider mice and nuclear skulls on the ground made me laugh big times. The soldier and the obligatory military stuff did their part.

The band picture inside the booklet shows an old and, too, likeable band. A milkman collage made me laugh as well. With other words, the band scored with their charm before I even listened to one of the 23 (actually 24) songs. The Hidden track turned out to contain some short, funny talking.

And the songs... I really love Milkman’s style. As I’ve just mentioned S.O.D., together with Poison Idea or D.R.I. they seem to be definitely a big influence. It’s oldschool hardcore out of the 80s. Thrashy as well as powerful. Solos are added to some songs and you get reminded of the old bands, without recognizing them to be copied. Milkman do a fantastic job on being individual in this style. They’re just doing what they like and they aren’t fake. You hear and you can read it as well. The Lyrics of Nostalgiator (actually the name is the program of the sound) are fun to read. Some of them are in Dutch, which I can’t understand, but I imagine them to be cynically funny, too. The lyrics understandable to me deal with scene stuff, which, of course, isn’t taken very serious, and with politics. There they are more cynical than funny.

I enjoyed listening to this dedicated album, catching a great old spirit. Check them out!

Label: Shield Records




Marios Metal Mania

MILKMAN – Nostalgiator (CD) The Netherlands February 2008 Kees Schijven
Style: Hardcore Metal Running time: 28:02 (Tracks: 23)

One of the fastest Milkmen in the Netherlands (Milkman), who used to come to your door (S.R.V.) has a new record out, their fourth effort `Nostalgiator`. Milkman was born out of S.R.V. members, and Kutnaam 1001 vocalist Meeri, when they joined forces in 1994. They started working on their own material, and this resulted in the demo "It`s Not a Choice"(1995) and their first cd "Combover World"(1998). Loud, fast and tight was going to be their motto. They played their first gigs and appeared on a couple of compilations. Early 2000 Kangaroo Records from Amsterdam showed interest which resulted in "Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens" (second album) and "Is This Punk Enough For You?" (third album). In the mean time, Milkman also recorded a split 7" and a bunch of songs for compilation 7"s and cd`s. Expect nothing less than fast hardcore, crossover thrash metal punk from these guys, again on this album. Very well played, with the aggression and energy these guys are known for. If you still wondering what they sound like I can tell you they are influenced by bands like D.R.I., Poison Idea and M.D.C., or was it the other way around?! If you wouldn`t know any better, this album could well be made in the 80`s! Lyrics are again in Dutch and English, and handle against war, religion, world and closer to home politics, writer`s blocks, useless violence and hangovers, and the always present tributes to some of their heroes. Some titles to get the impression, "True Hardcore", "Stille Tocht", "Saving Private Rambo", "Ben ik te Punk?", "Aging and Raging" or "Boos", just to name a few. Milkman already shared stages with bands like, D.R.I., U.K. Subs, Dayglo Abortions, Cause for Alarm, Poison Idea, GangGreen, M.D.C. and Municipal Waste and they are planning to go out and do a lot of shows again (don`t miss them), a lot of drinking (I thought they already did that) and hopefully selling a lot of records (on vinyl please!) and making lots of money (to drink more?). This band deserves to be heared, they are a hardworking (and drinking) band, who plays hardcore the way it was ment to be played, with the true spirit of the 80`s, support these guys!

Visit their website: milkman.tk
Recordlabel: theshieldhardcore.com
MySpace: myspace.com/milkmanhardcore
92/100




PUNX.NL

Zodra ik de CD in mijn handen gedrukt krijg door labelbaas Gert begin ik een 1-mans pit en roep ik luidkeels “Slayuuhrr! Snelluhrr, verdomme!!” Glas breekt, de mosh is gebracht en een lucht van bier en zweet vult de kamer. Als de plaat na een klein half uurtje ophoudt en ik eenmaal weer bij zinnen kom kijkt mijn visite ietswat bescheten om zich heen. Met een rooie boei leg ik uit dat dit de nieuwe Milkman is en dat dit er nu eenmaal bijhoort.
Misschien voor de non-believers en niet-kenners een onbegrjipelijke reactie, maar de mensen die wel bekend zijn met deze band weten nu al dat ook deze vierde plaat garant staat voor een stevig avondje bierhakken, feesten en razen! Ik hou er wel van en het zal onderhand es tijd worden dat de rest van Nederland ook plat gaat voor deze formatie. Het moet kunnen, want (los van het feit dat het allemaal ietsjes strakker klinkt dan het werk op Kangaroo Records) de heren spelen nog steeds in het stijltje van Poison Idea, Out Cold, Wehrmach, DRI, en SOD. Dat soort shit, mist goed uitgevoerd, deed het toch goed sinds Municipal Waste? Nou, dit is misschien een tandje sneller over de gehele linie, maar dat moet voor een thrashcore band eerder een pluspunt zijn dan een minpunt.
Muzikaal zit het dus wel snor met Nostalgiator, ondanks dat de bijtende stem van zanger Meeri iets harder uit de mix had mogen komen, maar ook tekstueel zitten deze tracks prima in elkaar. Soms met een scheve bek, maar soms ook serieus met maatschappij kritische onderwerpen als oorlog en religie. Ik trek de Nederlandse nummers ook bijzonder goed en een nummer als Ik Ben Boos, ook te beluisteren op hun myspace, scoort hoog in mijn boekje.
Het artwork is bijzonder goed verzorgt en alle metalheads, crusties, hardcore kids en punks met een voorliefde voor snelle shit zullen hier hun vingers niet aan branden. Ik zet dit schijfje vast in de kast naast Undisputed Attitude, want dat heeft dit juweeltje wel verdient! Owja, voordat ik het vergeet: SLAayuhrr!!




Ox Fanzine
Milkman - Nostalgiator CD


Wenn eine aus vier schon etwas reiferen Herren Bestehende band das wort Nostalgie in ihren Plattentitle einbaut, sich im Titelsong wehmütig an de achtziger Jahre und an Bands wie CRYPTIC SLAUGTHER, POISON IDEA, WEHRMACHT, EXCEL, DRI, MDC und SOD erinnert und dazu songtitel wie "aging and raging" (aging and Raging, never grow up{..}/ riding my weelchair atthe speed of light") verwendet, dan kan man davon ausgehen, das die Band sich zwar nicht seehr whol fühlt in der Hardcore-welt von heute, das Feld aber nicht den Jungspunden oder gar irgendwelchen Metalcore-Kaspern überlassen will.
Die in 1994 von ehemaligen Mitgliedern der in den Achtzigernaktiven S.R.V. und Kutnaam 1001 gegründeten MILKMAN bleiben sich nd "ihrem" Hardcore auch auf dem vierten Album Treu, Trashen sich in einer knappen halben stunde durch drreiundzwanzig songs und orientieren sich dabei ganz an den eben genannten Vorbildern. Und das miet einer Solchen Spielfreude und Energie sowie einem Wunderbar Zynishen humor, dass man davon einfach nur begeistert sein kann. Die Letzten beiden, ebenfall richtig guten alben erschienen übrigens auf Kangaroo Records, dessen betreiber ja ebenso herrlich altmodisch denkt.

(8) Andre Bohnensack.




NOFRONTTEETH.CO.UK

MILKMAN - `NOSTALGIATOR` CD
Brand new 23 track album from Dutch hardcore punk stalwarts MILKMAN, `Nostalgiator` their 4th full-length in ten years is a wonderful slice of `80"s hardcore, and I mean REAL hardcore- fast, thrashy, super-tight and super-short and fucking excellently played with a fantastic balance of aggression and power without ever being over the top or venturing too much in metallic territory, this is Hardcore with a capital H, this is the sound I grew up with that cannot be touched and MILKMAN nail that `80"s style perfectly, if you didn`t know that this was recorded this year you`d think it was 20 years old and that`s a fantastic accomplishment- I`m not one for pushing the punk and hardcore envelope...fuck that, I want more bands to represent the passion of earlier days and these 23 tracks in 28 minutes do that a hundred times over...this is fucking awesome. This is a fantastic record and more necessary than ever in these times of dead music that doesn`t mean shit. Get with this and feel some true passion and undying energy.

Shield Recordings
theshieldhardcore.com




Roarzine:

Zijn ze te Punk voor mij?
Milkman is een band die bestaat uit ex-leden van S.R.V en Kutnaam 1001. In 1994 smolten deze 2 bands samen en zo ontstond de Milkman van wie ik nu hun 4de CD aan het luisteren ben.

"Nostalgiator" telt 23 tracks en duurt slechts een kleine 30 minuten. De kenners weten wat dit betekent. Snelle trashy hardcore die diep geworteld zit in de mid 80`s hardcore. Wat deze band echter speciaal maakt zijn de nummers die deels Engelstalig zijn, maar ook deels Nederlandstalig.

Veel verschil maakt dit echter niet. In welke taal er ook gezongen wordt, het klinkt allemaal wat hetzelfde. Voor fans van D.R.I., Poison Idea en MDC, is deze schijf waarschijnlijk best te pruimen, voor mij persoonlijk bevat "Nostalgiator" net iets te weinig afwisseling om te blijven boeien. Toegegeven, en er zitten aardige riffs en verassende stukjes in sommige nummers, maar als een geheel is het mij net iets teveel van het goede.
De teksten die door de muziek ondersteunt worden zijn ook niet altijd aan mij besteed. Alhoewel er een kern van waarheid in de meeste nummers zit, zijn de zaken als zinloos geweld, politiek, hardcore etc. vaak erg simpel en net iets te straight in your face verwoordt.

Zeker geen slechte CD voor fans van dit genre, maar voor mij een pittig plaatje om door te komen.
60 %
Rowan




MilkMan - `Nostalgiator`
23 nov 2007, 11:31 | rubriek: Recensies | door: René van Hoesel


stijl: hardcore/trashmetal
wat: cd
Shield Recordings

Hardcoreband MilkMan heeft een lange voorgeschiedenis, die teruggaat tot in de jaren `80. Toen de band S.R.V. veel samenspeelde met de band Kutnaam 1001, resulteerde dit in 1994 tot een samengaan en was de band MilkMan een feit. Inmiddels is er de release van het vierde album, getiteld `Nostalgiator`. John (bas), Meeri (zang), Sers (drums) en Robin (gitaar) hebben voor dit album werkelijk (van) alles uit de kast getrokken. Opgedragen aan hun vriend en chauffeur Roland, worden we getrakteerd op 23 korte, snelle en felle songs.

Opvallend daarbij is dat op dit album zowel in het Nederlands als in het Engels gezongen wordt. Rake teksten over de maatschappij, angst, oorlog, woede, punk, religie; alles komt voorbij in hoog tempo, soms serieus, dan weer met een knipoog.

Muzikaal gezien zit het wel goed met MilkMan, zowel in tempo als wat betreft drums, bas en gitaar klinkt alles uitstekend. Ook inhoudelijk herken je als luisteraar veel van het alledaagse leven. Toch hadden we graag de stem van zanger Meeri wat meer en vaker op de voorgrond gehoord. Juist omdat het als een flits voorbijkomt, zou het wat prettiger zijn om zijn stem wat meer naar voren te halen, maar dat kan ook aan het afmixen van het album hebben gelegen.

Het viertal staat live garant voor spetterende optredens en `Nostalgiator` is een prima album om eens lekker op los te gaan of je buren mee te trakteren.

aantal tracks: 23
speelduur: 27:48 minuten

Op de MySpace van MilkMan kun je twee nummers beluisteren

musicfrom.nl
musicfrom.nl/magazine/recensies/26878/milkman-nostalgiator.html




Milkman [NL] - Nostalgiator CD

CD 2007


Milkman’s new (fourth) album is a fact.
Expect 24 songs of trashy hardcore in 28 minutes with English and Dutch lyrics

wtfdistro.eu




Sonic Rendezvous

MilkMan is a Tilburg based 80s hardcore band from the Netherlands. This is their fourth album, "Nostalgiator". With 24 tracks and a running time of close to 30 minutes expect nothing less than fast paced tunes with some short but sweet mosh parts, again taking you back into the mid 80`s. Coupled to Dutch and English, serious and less-serious lyrics on topics such as hangovers and useless violence, lyric writer`s blocks and of course world- and closer-to-home-politics and the always present tributes to some of their heroes.




Sonic Rendezvous

Is this punk enough


Their third full length (and first LP) should put them, finally, on the map where they deserve ! Namely among some of the finest quality hardcore ones. The Milkman comes from the Netherlands to crush with a vengeance, steamrollin` over all personal frustrations possible. From criticism of the past, the middle east and even good old Martha Splatterhead. Incredibly fast and hard hardcore, executed with precision, that should put many of the so called trash bands to shame. Mix the Neighbors with Out Cold and old DRI. 21 songs in 23 Minutes.




Sonic Rendezvous

Fresh Fruit for Rotten Aliens


15 in your face hardcore songs (19 min.) that will bring you back in reagan erea 1982 style....D.R.I./REAGAN YOUTH/URBAN WASTE. You name it and Milkman has it!!! From Holland!




Sonic Rendezvous

Combover World


First release of the Milkman.




Reflections records

MILKMAN
Nostalgiator


The Shield.

Fast, VERY fast hardcore/crossover from The Netherlands. If you`re into DRI, SOD, Municipal Waste or Poison Idea, this veterans are up your alley! Their best work to date!




Violent Moshground

Milkman – Nostalgiator
theshieldhardcore.com


Mijn Tilburgse maatjes van Milkman starten ooit ergens begin/midden jaren 80 onder de naam SRV met het maken van ongestructureerde tering herrie ! Jarenlang braken ze hier menig tent af en toerde ze met menig grootheid uit de Oldschool Hardcore & Crossover Scene ! SRV speelt nu al sinds 1994 onder de naam Milkman en de muziek is nog steeds even chaotisch als zo’n dik 20 jaar geleden ! Milkman ramt er op hun nieuwe plaat weer ouderwets op los, de zeer korte maar ontzettend agressieve nummers zullen fans van bands als: Outcast, Poison Idea en D.R.I zeer zeker aanspreken ! Nostaligator gaat gewoon ouderwets verder waar Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens stopte. Gewoon een vette Punk plaat die in geen enkele Crossover/Hardcore collectie mag ontbreken !

8,5
Patchman Marco




v/a - OI! Made in Holland

Rebellion Records seems to be a really hard working label as this is their 17th release in just a few years. And they don’t seem to care about what is popular, but only about what they like themselves. This record compiles 25 different oi!- and streetpunkbands from Holland, and most of them play in a raw style with gruff vocals. That’s cool when you like you’re streetpunk that way, but I like my streetpunk clean, and ultra-catchy. To me the most remarkable songs on this comp are played by: Discipline who contributed a song from their split with Argy Bargy, Disturbance with a song from Malice in Slumberland, Tech 9 who included my favourite song from Last line of defense, Badlands with the most catchy song from The Killing Kind, Evil Conduct who’s song sounds as British as possible, Young Ones who contributed a great song that was recorded for this compilation-record and Milkman who fit surprisingly good to this compilation. Like any compilation should this compilation has some unreleased tracks, 3 songs were recorded exclusively for this record and 4 songs that were taken from unreleased demos. Like I said before there are a lot of songs on it that are just too raw for me and I hear some lyrics that I wouldn’t have sung myself. Rebellion Records did a great job and this is recommended when you want to know what Dutch oi! and streetpunk sounds like, especially when you don’t just like your streetpunk ultra-catchy and sickly sweet.


ASICE.net




MILKMAN-Harder Faster Luder Better...,

old school thrash hardcore v duchu starých kapel z let osmdesátých jako DRI apod. z Holandska,
(Drugs Kill Your Mind)




MILKMAN Is this punk enough for you? LP

3ème album, saine évolution vers plus de précision dans les frappes chirurgicales ! La caisse claire démonte tout, comme il se doit dans le Fast Thrash. Si toute la vague Hollandaise récente (MIHOEN!, VITAMIN X, BETERCORE, POINT OF FEW...) a laissé des traces dans ton slip, jette une oreille à cette perle. Perso, c`est un groupe que j`irai voir la prochaine fois qu`il passe dans le coin. T`ai-je dis que les textes sont aux petits oignons ? "Never out of nothing, Only one option, Nothing to lose, Nothing to choose from". Excellent. PH (Kangaroo) geocities.com/tysonkangaroo




V/A "Hardcore True Or False" CD

Petit sampler Kangaroo, label punk hardcore hollandais. Y`a du bon et du moins bon. En vrac, mes favoris sont OUT COLD, MILKMAN, THE DESPISED, BROTHER INFERIOR, INSULT, DRAIN BRAMAGED (un bail que je ne les avais pas croisé, ceux-là... au moins depuis 1994), YAWP (qui balance un morceau monstrueux), BREZHNEV... Pour les autres, ça oscille entre mauvaise oï et punk bas de gamme. Disque qui alimentera quelques mixtapes. FL (Kangaroo Records)




MILKMAN - Is This Punk Enough For You? CD

Finally someone has mimicked a CDr in their artwork for the CD disc - hilarious. Musically this is straight ahead, angry hardcore but lacks a bit of originality and a few more hooks wouldn`t go a miss. Personally I preferred their last CD "fresh fruit for rotting aliens". Live they play for ages - whatever happened to a 20 minute set? Solid stuff. (JK)

rtbzine.ndo.co.uk




Milkman - Harder.Faster.Louder...Tape

MILKMAN aus Holland spielen rasend schnelle, auf den Punkt gespielte Songs, die deine Lieblings-US Thrash Band in Nullkommanix pulverizieren. Auf dem Tape gibt es sowohl die zweite LP "FRESH FRUIT FOR ROTTEN ALIENS", als auch den dritten Longplayer "IS THIS PUNK ENOUGH FOR YOU" zu hören. Insgesamt 37 Sonx in 40 Minuten (!!), welche an alte DRI erinnern. Kaufen! DRUGS KILL YOUR MIND

plastic-bomb.de




Milkman
Is this punk enough for you? Kangaroo, 2002


Das dritte full length der Holländer, die dir hier 23 Songs (in 21 Minuten) und die volle D.R.I./Thrash Kelle um die Ohren hauen, dass dir Hören und Sehen vergeht. Rasend schnelle, auf den Punkt gespielte Songs, die deine Lieblings-US Thrash Band in Nullkommanix pulverizieren. Hit!




Band: Milkman
CD: Is this punk enough for you?


Datum: 14-10-2003
Door: troep
Cijfer: 9

Een hele vette Lp van milkman is deze is this punk enough for you?
21 hele harde goede nummers van deze geweldige band.
De intro is gelijk de naam van de LP.
vol goede politieke teksten en teksten over bier etc.
Aanrader voor die gene die van hc en crust houden.

Punx.nl




Warprayer, austrinken.com

Ugh, da hier wirklich mit Informationen an allen Ecken und Kanten gespart wurde, habe ich echt nicht den Schimmer einer Ahnung wann diese Schnitte das künstliche Licht dieser Erde erblickt haben könnte. Klar, “Combover world" ist nach der ’01er “Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" CD bzw. der ’01er “Eighties verantwoord e.p." Split 7" w/ PLANKTÖN erschienen, aber ob die nun eher oder später als die nicht zu schlagende ’03er “Is this punk enough for you?" CD rausgekommen ist, weiß nur die Band selbst, der Heilige Geist, der Papst oder Ronald Reagan, aber Letzterer schmeißt eh alles durcheinander... Egal, ich tippe in meinem vollen Verstand (haha, cooles Wortspiel!! “voller Verstand" – gerafft?) mal darauf, dass dieser Silberfisch vor (!!) dem “Is this punk enough for you?" Album erschienen ist, denn 1.) klingen MILKMAN hier noch wesentlich mehr nach ihren ersten beiden Outputs und 2.) bringt eine Kapelle nach einem modernen Klassiker wie der “Is this punk enough for you?" CD nicht so eine Platte raus. Versteh’ mich nicht falsch: Hier hagelt es durchweg ziemlich guten, schnellen, powervollen early-’80ties Hardcore inklusive eines tollen Shouters, aber die “Is this punk enough for you?" CD ist trotzdem noch um Klassen besser, da kompromissloser und wesentlich mehr “in your face", wenn du verstehst was ich meine. Alles in allem ist die “Combover world" CD, die fünfzehn Stücke in kurzweiligen 25:52 Minuten featured, durchaus angenehm zu belauschen, aber ich bevorzuge trotzdem die “Is this punk enough for you?" CD – hugh, Loser hat gesprochen!!




Milkman. Is this punk enought for you

****Now with other fast hardcore band of Holland-nederlands, and on one of the best ever labels of hardcore (actually)Kangaroo records Sehr glücklich concretly their third disc and the newest album ..hahahahah!!!!again the sme fast hardcore very good lyrics and a big return to the old times when the big monsters were runing for the earth...bands like Lärm, dri, minor threat and other monsters...well, the good it’s that this band it’s formed on 1998..very good band and a pleasure for listen Winken . I hope that i will can recopilase the next days their other two long plays..don’t worry it will be soon as me posible...no more for the moment...If you want know a bit more of thi band visit their web page: milkman.tk




MILKMAN - Is This Punk Enough For You? CD
(Kangaroo Records)


Das Cover war erst mal abschreckend: Schwarz-weiß Bild von ein paar knüppelnden Bullen, dazu ein eingekreistes A im Bandlogo. Crust-Geblöke mit den ewig gleichen, langweiligen "Alle sind böse außer meiner Szene"-Texten? Mitnichten. Superknüppliger, leicht, aber wirklich nur leicht metallischer Old-School Hardcore, der an frühe D.R.I., POISON IDEA und auch an die großen S.O.D. erinnert.

Mit letzteren haben MILKMAN aus Tilburg in den Niederlanden auch die humorvollen, szene-anpissenden und wahrscheinlich furchtbar unkorrekten Texte gemeinsam. Es wird gegen alles und jeden gekotzt, seien es Hardcore-Hools, der Kater am Sonntagmorgen, die sich immer weiter vermehrende Menschheit, dogmatische Szene-Regeln, Drogenabhängige, die für ihr beschissenes Dasein die böse Gesellschaft verantwortlich machen, oder die Punker, die sich über Kommerz in Form von Vierfarb-Booklets beschweren.

Um letzteren Gutmenschen einen Gefallen zu tun, wurde bei "Is This Punk Enough For You" eben auf ein Cover zurückgegriffen, dass "xeroxed enough" ist und MILKMAN "totally punk now" macht.

Großartige Texte also. Und an dem wütenden Hochgeschwindigkeits-Gekloppe könnten sich diese ganzen XXX-Vegan-Spacken, die meinen, sie würden mit ihrem miesem Möchtegern-Death Metal oder weinerlichem Emo-Gejaule Hardcore spielen, mal eine Scheibe abschneiden. So müssen Hass und Wut klingen: Ohne Kompromisse, immer voll in die Fresse und ohne Rücksicht auf irgendwelche Szene-Dogmen. (24:11)

Ox fanzine




Fracture #25 Dec. 03

Is this Punk enough for you? CD


You know you shouldn`t judge a book It`s cover. Well you shouldn`t judge this band by It`s crappy name!

This is some pretty great steamroller punk-trash. there`s 21 songs and only one clocks in over two minutes long.
This lot are not hanging around for the slouches. there`s an obvious love of metal in here and the "crossover"kids will lap this up. Reminds me of later day SLAYER meets TEAR IT UP or something.

Hilarious lyrics ripping into everything pretty much and this band seems to be laughing at themselves as
much as us. They even write a song about Martha Splatterhead who was the mainstay of every Accüsed lp in the 80`s. "the day evil died" and "damage done" are total trash gems. The former could be on any 80`s trash record.
Top stuff. there`s also the odd song about the glorys of beer, and how you can`t resist It`s temptation, probably some strange hommage to TANKARD.

The inlay folds out into one of those metal collages atypical of the 80`s crossover scene. Cheesy long hair, mullets, pentagrams and blokes drinking beer. The whole thing appears to be a total joke and joke bands usually get
boring fast but the music on here is solid from beginning to end. I can imagine their gigs being a beer soaked mosh pit. Get this, dust off your old denim jacket and start thrashing like It`s 1986 again!

Fracture zine




MILKMAN - Is this Punk enough for you? (CD)
(The Netherlands)


I don`t review hardcore/crossover bands that much because most of the "new" bands in this genre sound to "modern" to me. I prefer the Old School hardcore bands like: D.R.I, (old) Agnostic Front, Excel, Attitude Adjustment, Gang Green........
Regular i visit hardcore gigs from newer bands with Old School influences & attitude. Milkman is one of them together with bands like The Butcher and Uppercut. Milkman is very wellknown by me because i have been their sound-engineer (live) for several years but that`s not a reason to give them a good CD review anyway!!!
This band from Tilburg (or is it Killburg?) started years ago as a follow up to their previous band SRV. Dilldozer singer Meeri joined them and since then they are named Milkman. This is the bands 3th album and It`s their best so far! You can recognize their D.R.I. & The Accused influences. They even have an Accused "Martha Splatterhead" tribute song on this album and that is called: "Martha Lives". So if you`re into fast & furious Old School hardcore, you should buy this album a.s.a.p!!! Visit their website at: http://milkman.tk/
Recordlabel: http://www.geocities.com/tysonkangaroo

MARIO`S METALMANIA




Nodo50

MILKMAN "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" cd (kangaroo)
Más hc a toda pastilla desde Holanda.

MILKMAN "Cowbover world" cd (diy)
Primer disco de este banda, un poco más new school pero igual de bueno.

nodo50.org




MILKMAN – Harder, Faster, Louder, Better... (Drugs Kill Your Mind) 60,-

Starý trash hardcore podobné D.R.I. nebo starým kapelám ve fast ’83 stylu.

distro.ragedis




Milkman "Harder, faster, louder, better" (DKYM)

Clog moshers in the pit! Holland`s answer to early D.R.I. are experts on how to whip up a frenzied thrash-o-caust.
34 tracks taken from the "Fresh fruit..." CD. Pro-tape w/printed cover w/all the lyrics.

Busted Heads Records




MILKMAN "Harder Faster Louder Better...":

další kapela ve stylu osmdesátých let, tentokrát z Holandska. Rychlý hardcore - model’83, ale žádná vykrádacka. Fans prvních DRI - tohle je neco pro vás. 60,-

insanesociety.net




MILKMAN – “Harder, faster, louder, better...“

výbornej hardcore / punk rachot z Holandska, znející jako nejakej starej 80’ Boston nebo neco podobnýho. Naživo to bylo zcela vynikající. 34 skladeb z jejich 2 CD (Drugs Kill Your Mind) 60kc

IMPREGNATE DISTRO




MilkMan - Fresh fruit for rotten aliens (CD)

Uit Holland komen ze met topsnelheid aangevlogen met hun `Fresh fruit for rotten aliens` (prachtige titel trouwens hehe). Deze muziek bonkt, slaat hard in het rond, en is pijlsnel.
Dit is wat je kan noemen Old School HC van de bovenste top. De schijf duurt misschien maar 20 min, maar geloof me vrij. Het is zijn geld waard. De intro is zo eenvoudig als geniaal. Ik zou het je kunnen verklappen, maar dan is de surprise er van af. Laat het me zo zeggen. Opeens komt uit het niets de rauwe muziek van de kaasvreters op je afgestormd. Een enorm krachtige windhoos van korte aaneengeschakelde songs met teksten die je nog in aliens zouden doen geloven. Je moet het maar kunnen, om zo`n 15 nummers over kwaadaardige ruimtemannetjes te zingen. Mij verveelt het alleszins niet, integendeel.
Dit is tenminste geen tough-guy shit van enkele broekies, maar van het beste wat Holland te bieden heeft, gemaakt door gasten die evengoed boeren zouden kunnen zijn. En o ja, de band zelf is alle kritiek op hun teksten beu. Deze mannen zijn 100% `politiek en leutig` correct, als je dat maar weet. Daarom raad ik je aan zo vlug mogelijk de opvolger van deze schijf aan te schaffen. Want hun antwoord op alle kritiek luid : Is this punk enough?... raad zelf maar haha

Vort `n Vis




Milkman - Is the Punk Enough For You?
Kangaroo Records (The Netherlands)


What an album title...
They apparently had some critics on their previous album (Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens) and now they strike back with this 24 minutes lasting blast. I have not got to say anything else then 21 songs in 24 minutes. This is why people invented the word speed. WOW this is fucking fast and brutal hardcore/punk.

Well the front cover couldn`t be more punk... a riot and anarchy symbol... what do you want more? The lyrics deal with serious subjects and every now and then a little bit of sarcasm. This review is short but so is the album... short and fucking fast. Think of bands like discharge and The Butcher.

Jeroen

you`re Not Alone Hardcore Punk Zine




Milkman - Is the Punk Enough For You? CD
(Kangaroo Records)


I can answer the bands question with a YES. This is punk, no cheesy punkrock or quasi-slow stuff, just sheer punk aggression with a trash edge. Think fellow countrymen The Butcher, but loose the hardcore influences. Stripped down to the bone to bring the message across, no time to rest, pure Dri influenced adrenaline. there`s also a Dutch song on the record "Multi Culti Sint" band should definitely do that more often. Our language suits punk really well. I wonder how their singer can prevent his tongue winding up in a knot.
Martijn Welzen

Added: July 24th 2003
Reviewer: Martijn
insideknowledge.net




MILKMAN - “Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens” CD/ 18:14

All the song lyrics are alien related, silly, funny and totally flying over my head. Musically, well I can hardly hear the vocals. But it’s kind of like real fast mid 80’s thrashy hardcore. Can’t really think of whom it reminds me off, as I’m not really enjoying it one bit, despite it being fast. It just doesn’t go anywhere and the recording sucks. (MH)
KANGAROO, Middenweg 13, 1098 AA, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Fracture zine




Busted Head Records
Milkman "Is this punk enough for you?" LP (Kangaroo)


Dutch thrashes know for playing righteous tunes and having horrible record covers. 21 fast assault on your groin in the vein of early DRI, The Accused, MDC etc.
Mullets are back in hardcore, finally!

bustedheads.com




MILKMAN "Is This Punk Enough For You?" CD
(Kangaroo Records, Middenweg 13, 1098 AA Amsterdam, Holland)


Yes! This is more punk than I can take!!!
Kangaroo Records warten mit einer echten Hardcore-Granate auf! MILKMAN aus Tilburg ist eine der dienstältesten Hardcore Bands in Holland. Ähnlich wie einst bei LÄRM wird Wert auf "Schnelligkeit" gelegt. Die insgesammt 21 Songs auf dieser CD sind dermassen
kompromisslos, das man beim Zuhören mit den Ohren auf dem Boden schleift.
Das hier ist ein einziges gnadenloses Hardcore Gewitter. Klar, damit kann man keinen Schönheitspreis gewinnen, aber man kann alles so richtig raus lassen - so viel, so hart und so schnell wie man will. This kills Rock Business!

Helge

Plastic Bomb, summer 2003 (Not the mailorder).




PLASTIC BOMB
MILKMAN – "Is this punk enough for you?"


Knallharter, schnell runtergebretterter HC-Punk im Stil von DS-13, CODE 13 oder alten D.R.I. Heftiges Knüppel-aus-dem-Sack-Gebolze, aber nicht stumpf, sondern mit System. Die Holländer hauen satte 21 Songs in nur 24 Minuten raus - Wahnsinn !

plastic-bomb.de (mailorder)




Eye Witness #53:
MILKMAN – “Is this punk enough for you? CD


Die Milchmänner haben mit ihrer obergeilen ’01er “Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" CD sowie der ebenfalls reichlich blasenden ’01er “Eighties verantwoord e.p." Split 7" w/ PLANKTÖN zwei außerordentlich starke Scheiben unter den geifernden Pöbel geworfen und jetzt ist das Quartett aus Tilburg, wo immer das auch sein mag, mit einem nagelneuen Geschoss aus den Katakomben zurückgekommen und ich kann dir sagen, dass sich diese Schrapnell nur noch gewaschen hat.

Heilige Scheiße, auf der “Is this punk enough for you? CD reißt dich irre schneller, hochgradig powervoller, full blown, early-’80ties infizierter old-school Hardcore der Superlative inklusiver genialstem Shouting nur noch aus dem Sessel. MILKMAN bomben diese einundzwanzig Tracks in gerade mal 24:11 Minuten runter, von daher könnte man hier schon von einem immens explosivem Molotowcocktail sprechen! Thrashiger Amicore in Richtung NEGATIVE APPROACH trifft auf neuzeitlichen holländischen Fastcore like MIHOEN!, POINT OF FEW blablabla – besser geht es eigentlich nicht mehr!!

Ach ja, alle die MILKMAN auf der lyrischen Ebene nach der “Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" CD, die ja eine Art Konzeptalbum über diverse außerirdische Aktivitäten darstellte, abgeschrieben haben, sollten aufhorchen, denn MILKMAN sind textlich besser als jemals zuvor, aber lassen wir sie doch selbst zu Wort kommen: “We’re back, we’re new, improved and upgradet / MILKMAN 3.2 / Harder, faster, louder, better / And it’s available for you / We got some complaints about our colourfull sleeve / Which wasn’t really hardcore / It didn’t look xeroxed enough / So people couldn’t find it in the store / This one really looks punk now / In colourfull black and white / The riot squad beats the crap out of someone / A real punker’s delight / We also received some critics / About the strange story we told / Critisism is there to learn from / So we can go for gold / Only songs about serious topics / All politically correct / Makes us totally punk now / And we have much more impact / We will sell tons of records now / Because our music is true / The only questions that remains is / IS THIS PUNK ENOUGH FOR YOU?" (“Is this punk enough for you?").

Also wenn du dich darüber nicht amüsieren kannst, ist dir wirklich nicht mehr zu helfen!! Meiner bescheidenen Meinung nach – und meine Meinung ist alles was zählt!! – ist die “Is this punk enough for you? CD eine absolute Harke und auch auf die Gefahr hin, dass ich mich wiederhole: Es ist einfach geil zu hören, dass amerikanisch klingender old-school Hard-fucking-Core auch auf dieser Seite des großen Teiches so dermaßen geil runtergerissen wird. Pflichtkauf!!




Maximum Rock n Roll, USA

Researched this a bit. This seems to be their first full length on vinyl.Two cd`s . A couple of 7" and some compl. Ear-stripping fucking raving shit-hell trash no -forgiveness punk. The
entire band can do that early 80`s trash thing where no matter how fucking fast the beat is , all the musicians can still play complicated , intresting music and you can understand everything the singer says. Like GANG GREEN or JERRY`S KIDS . Yeah this is punk enough. Yet ... I checked out the website and it all seems to be is an in-depth joke. A joke
about bands emulating former eras of punk rock. Cool , Maybe. I dont know




Milkman
`Is This Punk Enough For You?` CD
(Kangaroo/Sonic Rendezvous


Kangaroo Records staat bekend om recht voor zijn raap hardcore en punk. Met het nieuwe album `Is This Punk Enough For You` van het Tilburgse Milkman blijft het Amsterdamse label haar weg gewoon volgen want Milkman hakt er wederom lustig op los. `21 nummers binnen de 25 minuten moet kunnen`, zullen de mannen gedacht hebben. Fans van D.R.I. en S.O.D. kunnen hun lol op met Milkman. Om nog even terug te komen op de titel van het album: Yeah, this is punk enough for me...

Serge van Uden (83/100)
upmagazine.nl




Milkman - “Is This Punk Enough for You?” CD
Kangaroo Records


Their third full length (and first LP), should put them finally on the map where they deserve! Namely among some of the finest quality hardcore ones. Milkman come to crush with a vengeance, steamrolling over all personal frustrations possible. Incredible fast and hard HC executed with precision, should put many of the so called thrash bands to shame. mix Neighbors/Outcold and old DRI.

knowcrap.com




"UpYours" March 2003

"Is This Punk Enough For You?" is the albumtitle of the new MILKMAN cd, out on -ofcourse- Kangaroo Records. Allthough I did have my doubts about the bands previous release, which never seemed to get any grip on me, I was much pleased and surprised to seem them perform live at the Pits together with Outcold. Throughout 21 razorsharp, short cut tracks MILKMAN blasts out a decent set of hardcore punk at a speed with is only tolerated for squadcars during rush hour. This new album lives very much up to the standard to be expected from this band live. It`s a full contact mixture of pure boiling energy and intensity done the way it was set out in the US back in the early 80s when punk and early hardcore met.




Milkman
`Is This Punk Enough For You?`
Kangaroo/Sonic Rendezvous


Het ergste werd weer gevreesd toen we het archetypische punkhoesje (flikken slaan iemand in elkaar, waar hebben we dat nog gezien?) in handen kregen. Maar de titel en het titelnummer maken duidelijk dat dit een sneer is naar het bekrompen punkdenken dat verzorgde kleurhoesjes en dergelijke uit den boze vindt. Muzikaal is dit snelle, agressieve, energetische punkcore die wel aanslaat, maar na 5 nummers ook evenwaardig strontvervelend wordt. Nu (boo) papa gaat worden, wordt hij blijkbaar helemaal te oud voor zoiets, maar hoopt toch stilletjes dat z`n teergeliefde kleine in z`n pubertijd met dit soort teringherrie naar huis gaat komen.

RIFRAF, april 2003




Milkman - Is this Punk Enough for You?
21.04.2003


As pissed off as hardcore can be.

Hey, I completely liked this new Milkman CD. Totally pissed of up-beat hardcore punk that is angry, threatening and simply the way hardcore used to be: a fucking threat!
Their third full length (and first LP) will finally move them where they belong and level them from the best kept secret of tk hardcore to (your hall of fame here).
All of the 21 songs are thrashed down in 23 minutes so you know what to expect. Hell Yeah! Incredibly fast, hard and varying hardcore that is precise as a razor and sharp like a scalpel. Many of those wanna be hardcore bands out there surely will turn red! Somewhere between Out Cold, older DRI/SFA and Sheer Terror. Awesome!

enoughfanzine.com




Aardschok April 2003

MILKMAN
Is This Punk Enough For You?
Kangaroo/Sonic Rendezvous


Wie herinnert zich nog de jaren tachtig met bands als Ganggreen, DRI en The
Accused? Slechts enkele bands van vandaag weten de sfeer van toen neer te
zetten. Goede voorbeelden zijn Milkman en The Butcher. The Butcher heeft
onlangs al een dijk van een CD uitgebracht. De tweede CD bij Kangaroo
Records van Milkman is een teken dat ook deze band absoluut tot de betere in
dit genre behoort. Het tempo is moordend, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat
je het overzicht verliest. Het sarcasme blijft een absoluut pluspunt en de
zogenaamde "echte punkers", hooligans, junks et cetera krijgen er flink van
langs in songs als "Is This Punk Enough For You?", "Crossing The Line" en
"Hooligone". Muzikaal is de CD een ode aan bovengenoemde bands en vooral aan
formaties als The Ramones en The Accused die in songs als "The Count Tofore"
en "Martha Lives" geëerd worden. Een heerlijke CD met een gierend tempo en
geweldige humor.

Onno Cro-Mag 81 punten




Warprayer (#66), austrinken.com
MILKMAN - "Is this punk enough for you?" CD


After their "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" CD and their split 7" w/ PLANKTÖN these four guys out of the Netherlands continue to amaze me with some of the best ear-splitting thrash recently!

MILKMAN - milkman.tk - are better than ever before and since they hammer through 21 bombardments in slightly over 24 minutes, you know that they`re not fucking around.

Fuck, this disc brings just rippingly fast, powerful and just incredible thrashcore in the vein of NEGATIVE APPROACH mixed with the best elements of the current dutch scene (MIHOEN! - roerbak-geweld.nl -, POINT OF FEW - pointoffew.nl -), so you cannot go wrong with the "Is this punk enough for you?" compact disc!!

Also, the lyrics aren`t that weird as on their "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" full
lenght, so read the lyrics for the title track: "We`re back, we`re new, improved and upgradet / MILKMAN 3.2 / Harder, faster, louder, better / And It`s available for you / We got some complaints about our colourfull sleeve / Which wasn`t really hardcore / It didn`t look xeroxed enough / So people couldn`t find it in the store / This one really looks punk now
/ In colourfull black and white / The riot squad beats the crap out of someone / A real punker`s delight / We also received some critics / About the strange story we told / Critisism is there to learn from / So we can go for gold / Only songs about serious topics / All politically correct / Makes us totally punk now / And we have much more impact / We
will sell tons of records now / Because our music is true / The only questions that remains is / IS THIS PUNK ENOUGH FOR YOU?" ("Is this punk enough for you?").

Hell, there`s also song about Martha Splatterhead ("Martha lives...") and if that doesn`t make you grin, I`ll escorte you straight out of the scene!! Punishing stuff!!!
[Kangaroo Records - geocities.com/tysonkangaroo -]




V/A - “Kangaroo Comp” 7”.

No title on this, so mine will have to suffice. Ok here’s the lineup: TEAR IT UP, REAL SHIT, OUTCOLD, SEEIN RED, DEADSTARE, YAWP!, A.V.O, MILKMAN, THE NEIGHBOURS, RAWRIDE and CREEPING JESUS. It’s a multiple orgasm from the word GO! No frills fast core, perfect. Not for the fainthearted - only for hardcore loving geeks which I’m sure will be on your shopping list. (MH)
KANGAROO.

seanchai.dircon.co.uk




MAXIMAAL ONTHAAL Cd compilation (Royal blood)

This is an awesome comp that will probably remain a classic like "Not so quiet on the eastern front", "Barbaric thrash", "Peace 2xLp", etc. First the packaging is incredible, there is a huge booklet explaining why they decided to put out a compilation against the monarchy in Holland, and one page per band with lyrics, info, etc (we could have done without the jewel box). Then, the music itself is excellent. You got almost an hour of uptempo Hc/punk with an excellent sound quality (all the bands recorded at Bunt studios). Sometimes the tracks are even a bit overproduced. It is so rare to find compilation without ANY bad songs on them ! Curiously enough, my favourite ones were not the songs written by the most famous bands (SEEIN` RED, BREZHNEV, PCP, HUMAN ALERT...), but by some up-and-coming bands like : MILKMAN, LIVE FAST DIE YOUNG, FIRE IT UP, ALL TENSED UP, etc. Buy this !
Royal Blood Records
(Y.B.)

punk-hardcore.chez.tiscali.fr




KANGAROO RECORDS - "Loved by few... Hated By Most
compilation 7"


This compilation is better than good because: a) Its a full on thrash attack with tracks from Milkman, Bury The Living, Crispus Attucks, Dandare, Brezhnev, The Blurters, AVO, Something In The Water, Anger In Motion and Jesus And The Gospelfuckers b) Its got rad comic artwork of kangaroos and people fighting each other as well as a cool poster c) All the bands featured have something inteligent to say in their lyrics d) All of the above (LH) (*6)

rtbzine.ndo.co.uk/musicvarnumb.htm




Kangaroo Records Comp. 7”

11 bands, 12 songs, 1 7”. This is a pretty good comp if you want to find out what sort of stuff Kangeroo is releasing these days, or even if you want a comp with some of the best fast hardcore bands around! The bands are Tear It Up, Real Shit, A.V.O., Outcold, Yawp!, Seein’ Red, Milkman, The Neighbors, Rawhide, Creeping Jesus, and Deadstare. With the bands hailing from the U.S., Japan, Australia and Europe this is pretty much essential. (AG)

rtbzine.ndo.co.uk/musicvarnumb.htm




We Don`t Need Society
A DRI Tribute
Malt Soda


DRI is voor velen een band die een brug sloeg tussen het thrashpubliek en de old school hardcoreliefhebber. Het is niet zo vreemd dat er tussen de zee van tribute albums ditmaal een DRI-album voorbij komt. Helaas is het onmogelijk om 37 goede uitvoeringen te
horen van DRI-hits, maar er zitten op deze tribute alleraardigste songs bij.

Het valt wel op dat de Nederlandse uitvoeringen van THE BUTCHER en MILKMAN
er uitspringen, al moet ik bekennen dat ook bands als ELECTRIC FRANKENSTEIN,
THE MIRRORMEN, DEFACE, HOLLYWOOD HATE en THE BLOODSHOT HOOLIGANSS het er goed vanaf brengen. Je krijgt in ieder geval waar voor je geld met maar liefst 37 songs.

Onno Cro-Mag
Aardschok, February 2003




We Don`t Need Society: A Tribute to DRI
Malt Soda Records


From the people who brought you the recent tribute to RKL comes another comp
put together with at least as much love, this time giving punk rock propers
to the best band ever to start out as a crummy hardcore band in Texas, move
to San Francisco, put out a genre defining record and follow it up with some
amazingly boring drivel; no, not MDC, but your other favorite potential
acronym, the Dirty Rotten Imbeciles. While this comp isn`t as consistent as
the RKL tribute if you`re into any of the bands here it might be worth
taking a look at.

If you`re just a DRI fanatic in general, though, We Don`t Need Society may
not be the perfect fit for your record collection. While there are a number
of solid tunes here most bands tend to bend DRI`s songs to their own styles;
Crash, for instance, are one of a number of bands who manage to make their
covers sounds uncannily similar to Slayer, Milkman make the "Imbeciles" sound
like a Bridge 9 Records band and Sappy Bell zoom in on the subtly melodic
aspects of the band, pushing the catchiness of the song structure to the
forefront of "Tone Deaf."

As a devoted desciple of Dealing with It, though, I`m more inclined to
appreciate the bands who attack their covers as viciously as DRI did the
originals. Electric Frankenstein of all bands clock in with an incredible
version of "Plastique," the Crosstops sound like Adrenalin OD trying to play
crossover on "Money Stinks" and Shut the Fuck Up turn out the most brilliant
performance on the comp with a version of "Slit My Wrist" that would
probably earn the whole band prescriptions for whatever psychological
medications they desired if a trained mental health professional ever heard
it.

One thing you won`t find on We Don`t Need Society is self-consciously
experimental deconstructions of the original songs. No one turns "Violent
Pacification" into a lullabye or reworks "Thrash Hard" as a Calypso tune;
even the normally bizarre Mr. Bungle don`t fuck around too much with the
classic "I Don`t Need Society," just thrashing it out like a good little
hardcore band.

While the reverence for DRI`s original arrangements may make for an album
that doesn`t sound patched together, very few of the bands on We Don`t Need
Society come close to matching the intensity of DRI`s earlier material.
Admittedly, many of the bands aren`t even trying (just look at the track
listing and see how many bands cover stuff from records like Thrash Zone and
Full Speed Ahead), but unfortunately a lot of We Don`t Need Society reminds
me why I didn`t like DRI`s later material. So if one of your favorite bands
appears here by all means pick this disc up, but if you`re looking at this
for any other reason I`d probably direct my bucks toward the band`s original
material.

Added: October 28th 2002
Reviewer: Daniel

deepfrybonanza.com




D.R.I. Tribute - We Don`t Need Society
Malt Soda Recordings


Wow! Finally, a tribute to one of the greatest bands in hardcore/punk history, and it is about time. D.R.I. are one of the most influential and talented bands to have been a part of music in the past 20 years. This is the tribute to them.

Tribute albums usually feature one or two decent tracks, and many sub-par ones, but this is the great exception. Some of the best bands in music today have come together to pay tribute to D.R.I. Mr. Bungle, Electric Frankenstein, 40 Grit, and MC Jesus are the heavy hitters that this album features....but also included are 33 more bands, all playing classic D.R.I. tracks.

Standouts on the album include, of course, Mr. Bungles live performance of “I Don’t Need Society”, Bloodred Bacteria doing “No Sense”, and Very Metal playing “Take It Down”. There isn’t really a bad cover on this CD though, and I believe that has a lot to do with the bands playing, but more importantly the songs they had to work with. D.R.I. are one of the greats, and this album is long overdue, but well worth the wait.

-Derek

9.5/10—A great tribute, to a great band.

decoy-online.com




nofrontteeth.co.uk

V/A - "SKULLS" 7"
This 12 track 7" has songs by 11 bands, these are: TEAR IT UP, REAL SHIT, A.V.O, OUT COLD, YAWP!, SEEIN` RED, MILKMAN, THE NEIGHBORS, RAWHIDE, CREEPING JESUS and DEADSTARE. This compilation has a great variety of tracks from different places - Japan (REAL SHIT/RAWHIDE), America (TEAR IT UP/OUT COLD), Australia (A.V.O/CREEPING JESUS), Netherlands (YAWP!/SEEIN` RED). There is not a bad track on this - the whole thing flies past at a tremendous rate and leaves you fucked up - in the best possible way! This seven has a fucking great cover (that the DAMNED used) that folds out into a poster. The songs work really well together on this and it flows very powerfully indeed. A.V.O, SEEIN` RED and MILKMAN are the highlights for me - but I love the whole thing.
Kangaroo Records




DP (or not DP) #4 CD
(DP (or not DP))


Wilco DP goes with It`s time and so the fourth DP-compilation is not on
tape, but on home-burned CD. I think this medium serves well and seen the
low price I think this CD is a good way to present the bands to the
sub-scenes. In about 80 minutes you get about 40 songs by about 20 bands.
Styles differ from Punkrock (Apers, Lulabelles) to Mohawk Punk (Antidote, No
Hoodlums) to Thrashy HC (Lomb, Milkman, Dandare) to Crust (Krush) to
Youthcrew (Fairfight) to Crossover (Haeckeflosse) to tough-guy-HC (Rebound
2,15) to modern technical Emo-HC (nbp) to melodic Core (Bambix, NIRC,
Dependent) and more. Most songs are released before, although these were the
first songs I heard from LADS. Also the original packaging made me get a
good feeling about this fourth DP-release. Order from UPS or surf to
dp-or-not-dp.nl




Equalizing Distort #2.5, Canada.

A benefit comp raising awareness around the Dutch monarchy and the
connection to a marriage of an Agentinian dictator`s daughter. Although it
sounds like a soap opera it is very serious matter regarding democracy and
proceeds from this comp are being raised for humanitarian organizations set
up to assist families who have had members go missing during the period of
the junta. All Dutch bands here getting behind the cause. All the greats
like SEEIN` RED, HUMAN ALERT, and BREZHNEV are found here. But the new
school of political sXe bands like VITAMIN X, REACHING FORWARD, MIHOEN,
BETERCORE, and MILKMAN are also found here. New bands from this comp to get
excited about include: LIFE FAST DIE YOUNG and ALL TENSED UP for new school
thrash revivalists, SKULLS AND FLAMES and MAKILADORAS for fans of youth
crust, PCP and FIRE IT UP for grind crew enthousiasts, and SHIKARI for
emo-violence fans. The sample of the SEX PISTOLS at the beginning of the
BETERCORE track is sheer genius. Get a peek into how great and focused the
Dutch scene is in It`s ability to come together over something important.




Maximum Rock n Roll #228, USA.

Brand new from Holland. 25 punk bands rocking out to hardcore in protest of
the queen`s son Willem-Alexander marrying Maxima Zorreguieta, the daughter
of an Argentine minister who washed his hands in blood during that country`s
dirty war in the `80s. The CD features such bands as MILKMAN, SEEIN RED,
HOOFTPIJN, BUNNIES ON STRIKE, UIT DE SLOOT, VITAMIN X, BREZHNEV and others.
All the tracks blaze with intamed lyrics, plus the CD comes with a totally
cool booklet with lots of info. This CD is some of the best punk I`ve heard
in a while. So, fuck monarchy! And check it out.




V/A “Loved By Few... Hated By Most” - EP

Another power hitting collection of heavyweights from Kangaroo. On the bill are Bury The Living, Crispus Attucks, Dandare, Brezhnev, Something In The Water, Milkman, and The Blurters. Comes with a poster as well. (Kangaroo) $4.00 [2 oz]

somestrangemusic.com




MILKMAN “Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens” CD

The first ever hardcore concept album?!? A tale of alien abduction and space travel set to speedy music with some weird stuff thrown in. (Kangaroo) $8.00 [4 oz.]

somestrangemusic.com




LiveXS - februari 2002

Máxima goes punk
De underground en het koningshuis zijn getuige de kroning in 1980 goede bekenden.
Of het op 02-02-02 opnieuw zo uit de hand loopt als toentertijd is afwachten, maar voor het kersverse koninklijk paar is wel alvast een cd volgespeeld: Maximaal Onthaal.

"Traditioneel, conservatief, oranje is de kleur. Grijp nu de gelegenheid, trap ze uit de deur", aldus de band Live Fast Die Young op hun bijdrage Monarchie, Schmonarchie.
LFDY is een van de 25 bands die een speciaal Máxima-nummer hebben geschreven als opwarmertje van het huwelijk dat Nederland en Argentinië voor altijd bondgenoten zal maken.
Daarnaast hoor je onder meer Uit de Sloot, Human Alert, Brezhnev, Seein` Red en Milkman.

Robert Voogt heeft het idee van de cd bedacht en tekende voor de samenstelling. "Ik werd een beetje moe van al die aandacht voor het huwelijk tussen Máxima en Willem-Alexander en je moet het zien als een tegenreactie", aldus Voogt.
"Tevens is het een beetje een traditie dat de underground van zich laat horen bij een koninklijk huwelijk en dat gebeurt dit keer op deze manier."

Naast een verzameling puike songs is ook het cd-boekje de moeite waard.
Op elke pagina worden foto`s van het koningshuis en de tour van Máxima door Nederland afgewisseld met een vermiste Argentijn.
Tevens is er te lezen welke rol Jorge Zorreguieta tijdens de Argentijnse dictatuur had en zijn de meest informatieve websites aangaande dit onderwerp opgesomd.

De cd kost 12 euro`s en de opbrengst gaat naar twee organisaties voor vermiste Argentijnen tijdens het junta bewind.




MILKMAN - "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" MCD

Diese relativ neue holländische Band wurde als der old-school Kracher schlechthin angekündigt und damit hat Henk Kangaroo Smit keinen Millimeter übertrieben. Jawoll, MILKMAN sind wirklich so genial. Auf der kompletten "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" MCD geht es mit hochgradig powervollem, rasend schnellen und durch jede Menge Hooks versetzten alte Schule Hardcore inklusive tollem Shouting, welches in der guten holländischen Tradition von Bands wie zum Bleistift LÄRM, SEEIN` RED oder MANLIFTINGBANNER steht, nur noch erbarmungslos nach vorne los.
Die Milchmänner brauchen für ihre fünfzehn Tracks gerade mal 18:12 Minuten von daher weißt du, daß die sich nicht mit irgendwelchem unnötigen Schnickschnack aufhalten und sofort auf den Punkt kommen. Yeah, das ist göttlicher Hardcorepunk pur!! Hammer!!




multimania.com/sdz

Milkman « Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens » (Kangaroo Records)

Point question de lait car le breuvage que nous propose Milkman sur son 2ème skeud serait plutôt du genre bien épicé. Formé de 4 musicos issus de groupes HC hollandais des mid 80s, ce groupe pratique un hardcore rock n` roll ultra old school de qualité (lisez violent et bien rapide) et rejoint ainsi ses collègues de label The Despised et The Neighbors
dans le club fermé des papes du style. La production est irréprochable et les lyrics acides travestis en un improbable scénario de série B tout à fait originaux. 18 minutes pour 15 titres, voilà qui devrait vous plaquer au sol. Bref, chez Kangaroo, le mot d`ordre n`est pas prêt de changer : à donf ! LL.
(milkman.f2s.com - geocities.com/tysonkangaroo)




Milkman - Fresh Fruit for Rotten Aliens CD (Kangaroo)

This is the second album of this Dutch band from Breda. Henk is very enthusiastic about this band and put this album out on his label. I haven`t heard their first album and with the promising words my expectations were pretty high. I guess too high, cuz I was a bit disappointed when I heard it for the first time.

Now when I have played it more I can look back objectively. As to be expected Milkman play 80`s styled Hardcore, which comes close to Final Conflict. And that is a compliment. So why was I disappointed? First off, the sound quality. The guitars do have a full raging sound, but the drums are too light and also the vocals are a bit plain. Secondly; the concept idea of this album is too silly for me: 15 songs about Aliens invading our earth, with no further message.

Besides the critics still a nice album music wise.

Kangaroo, Middenweg 13, 1098 AA, Amsterdam, Holland.




MILKMAN / PLANKTÖN - "Eighties verantwoord e.p." Split 7"
[Kroket Records, c/o Jelle Smit, Beeksestraat 76, 4841 GD Prinsenbeek, Niederlande]


MILKMAN hatten neulich die obergeile "Fresh fruit for rotten aliens" CD veröffentlicht und die drei Tracks dieses Gesplittes gehen exakt in diese Richtung. Die Milchmänner haben sich schnellem, unwahrscheinlich kraftvollen old-school Hardcore mit perfektem Gesang in Richtung so alter amerikanischen Helden wie meinetwegen ANTIDOTE, NEGATIVE APPROACH blablabla verschrieben und MILKMAN sind ein seht guter Beweis für meine These, daß guter amerikanisch klingender alte Schule Sound auch auf dieser Seite des großen Teiches runtergerissen wird.

PLANKTÖN brettern ihre fünf Lieder zwischen 4 Sekunden und 2:15 Minuten runter, wobei du jetzt keine Muffe haben mußt, denn "Sympathy for ignorance" ist gleichzeitig der einzige Song, der die Minutenmarke überschreitet. Yeah, PLANKTÖN machen exakt die Art von Hardcore, die ich liebe und somit herrscht hier nur noch rasend schnelles, roh produziertes, wildes Getrümmer mit komplett angepißtem Shouting. Klar, PLANKTÖN sind für Hi-Fi Fanatiker (hi Snoopy!!) wahrscheinlich absolut unhörbar, aber ich halte sie, da die schlampige Aufnahmequalität die Musik noch brachialer erscheinen läßt, für einen echten Kracher!!
Shit, die "Eighties verantwoord e.p." Split 7", die auf gerade mal lasche 300 Kopien (durchnumeriert) limitiert wurde, ist ein Harke der allerbesten Güteklasse, so fucken get this!!




DP or not DP - Netherlands

Milkman "Combover World"
Great fast hardcore from the south of The Netherlands

Milkman "Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens"
Less diverse than the "Combover World" CD, but even more intense. An 18-minute explosion of energy, caught in superfast hardcore.

dp-or-not-dp.nl




Mindview, maart 2001

Milkman -Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens
Kangaroo Records/ Sonic Rendezvous

Deze Nederlandse band raast aan je voorbij als euh... een sneltreinn ee, een bulldozer op high speed. Superkorte bulderende nummers passeren de één na de ander de revue, en voor je het weet ben je alweer vier nummers verder. Deze groep verrees uit de assen van hardcoreband S.R.V. waaraan zanger Meeri van Kutnaam 1001 werd toegevoegd - eveneens een hardcoregroepje dat midden jaren `80 actief was in Nederland. Het viertal heeft zich tot doel gesteld om te tonen waar hardcore om draait, en volgens hen moet het hard snel en brutaal klinken. Nog sneller en brutaler dan het debuutalbum. En er is ook nog een concept, jawel, dit album gaat over een alien die op aarde neerstrijkt, zich als een vriend voordoet, maar achteraf toch niet zo vriendelijk blijkt te zijn, em uiteindelijk door de mens uitgeroeid wordt. En dit zou meer over de mensheid moeten zeggen dan al de blablabla van andere hardcoregroepen. Niet dat we iets van verstaan hebben, hoor, `t is maar omdat de bio het zegt, dat ik dit schrijf. (KG) zink(3/7)




Reason To Believe, issue 2 U.K.

MILKMAN - "Fresh fruit for rotting aliens" CD
Relentless fast Dutch hardcore with a twist. This is a concept LP about an alien invasion. From the beginning it tells a twisted tell of being captured by little green men. Slightly distorted vocals overtop notch fast hardcore. Some of the lyrics were a bit stupid but overall I liked this a lot. (JK)
Kangaroo Records




Slug and Lettuce, usa

fuckingfast netherlands hardcore,with members dating back to mid 80`s hardcore bands !
as with many fast hardcore albums, the songs stay short and the album length
is more like an ep than full length.
But there`s a lot more than album length to focus on..... like their lyrics, wich tell a story of an alien visiting earth and deceiving all the stupid humans....
Really bizarre shit , which seems like It`s straight out of a b-movie.
All the songs continue the story till the alien`s race end up being killed by the stupidest human.
As i said It`s strange , to say the lease.
And the artwork on this fits the story as well... I didn`t know what to make of it when i first saw it, but this music rages.
The vocals are delivered fast and the music is about energetic as hardcore gets (and thats saying a lot)
Do yourself a favor and listen to this gem if you ever get the chance !!
It will blow away your first impressions
(jay)




Plastic Bomb Germany

hey,hier gibt es langsamen EMO-CORE zu horen!!!!
nee, quatsch , war nur ein witz denn es gibt nur eine einzige losung , wenn man als band auf kangaroo records sen will: man mub hammerharten und sauschnellen hardcore spielen !!! Alles andere ist wimp-scheiße und henk von kangaroo records findet immer wieder bands , die seiner vorstellung entsprechen .
Milkman kommen aus tilburg (holland) und sind eine der alten OLD TIME HARDCORE bands.
Angefangen hatten die leute von milkman in den fruhen 80" jahren und seit kurzem sind sie unter diesem namen bekkant .
Und der anlab , warum sie wieder spielen ist, das sie der meinung sind , das die leute in der szene nicht mehr wissen was richtiger hardcore bedeutet.
Nicht so`ne pisse wie sick of it all oder so , sondern harte attacken wie in den 80"er jahren,.
Sie nennen ihren still deshalb auch "oldtime,, h.c. und nicht old schoolhardcore.
Insgesamt gibt es 15 hardcoreattacken zu horen die so ziemlich alles wegknuppeln was sich ihnen in den weg stellt
Wahrlich keine leichte kost .
Aber immer noch mit mehr seele als 80% der restlichen veroffentlichungen .
helge from plastic bomb aus germany.




MILKMAN - ‘Combover world’

Pretty good german h/c




DS-13

Milkman "Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens" CD (Kangaroo)


Kangaroo does it again! More great euro thrash, this time from Holland. Aking to early DRI and The New Wave Of American Old-School Hardcore, this baby goes all the way! But what the fukk does the title mean and how much weed had they smoked before they made the artwork?!




MILKMAN-FRESH FRUIT FOR ROTTEN ALIENS (CD-KANGAROO KR 030)

Inte en låt över 2 minuter och då förstår ni kanske vad det handlar om. Här går det undan och musikaliskt kan man kanske kalla det kängpunk men ändå inte för här är det mer punk än hårdrock som härskar även om det finns tuffa gitarrer. De här grabbarna ser glada ut men de låter inte så glada, vad skall vi göra åt det. Jag tror de här grabbarna behöver denna terapin för att må riktigt bra och då är det lika bra att låta dem hållas. Punkrock är det i alla fall så det stänker om det(SJU) 19/2-01

There also was an English version:

Not a song over 2 minutes and then you udnerstand what’s it’s all about. Here’s fastness and of course here’s some hard songs. And you can’t call it crustpunk because it’s more punkrock than it’s hardrock. Of course here’s some hard guitars . These guys look happy but they really sounds like their fucking mad. I don’t know what to do to it but there’s maybe a therapy for these guys to be so angry and then it’s sure that we must let them do this. It’s really punkrock.(SEVEN) 19/2-01

w1.313.telia.com~u31309301




TRUST

na welche band hat man mit dem albumtitel wohl auf`s korn genemmen ? oh man ich hebe bei dem cover und allem gewettet hier gibt es jetzt so man or astroman sachen , aber da hatte ich wohl mal einen blick auf das label werfen sollen .
kangaroo sind ja bekannt dafur , dass bei ihnen kein lied uber zwei min. hat und das poison idea fur die labelbetreiber schon nicht mal mehr gottern zu vergleichen sind
was soll ich sagen milkman halten sich an bei vorgaben und geben richtig gas .
verdamnt das hier ist old skool h.c. und nicht n.y. metalcombo die 1990 mal ne scheibe veroffentlicht hat.

Malte




Maximum Rock & Roll

dutch fans of pissed off early 80" hardcore(negative approach , urban waste , antidote)fashion a 15 track opera about an alien visit turned invasion.
The ultimate execution of the concept is average.
The songs dont really stand out as free-standing songs or as individual chapter of a larger story.
The vision however , is terrific.
I happen to think the possibility of allegory-heavy operas exist in the three chords of punk.
Will such an opus ever arrive ?




Milkman - Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens (CD)
Kangaroo Records


Milkman is back and they`re in a bloody hurry! Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens is fast, loud and raw, no wonder this band is on Kangaroo Records. Milkman is comparable to DRI, YOT and Minor Threat, which aren`t the worst bands in the world. The sound on this cd is very spontaneous and a bit like Slayer on Undisputed Attitude (somewhat less aggressive). In this style of music the songs that excel are the ones with the most catchy riffs. In terms of Milkman those are called "Preparing For Attack", "Prophecy of Doom" and "Another Great Idea". All the lyrics together make one big story, you can guess where`s it is about if you look at the title. It`s time to let Milkman invade your cd player!

Rating: 8,5

Rudeless
My Own Way
Hardcore E-Zine!
"Directly from the source..."




Stand Apart - Belgium

15 songs in 18 min., thats a good sign!
The cover is the weirdest I ever saw , its ugly , but in a good way. It kinda looks like a picture from a 50`s b-movie about ufo`s. Weird lyrics too, all the songs form one story about aliens, every song tells a bit of that story. You can hear that these guys been around in bands since the mid 80`s cause its all tight as hell. Song after song blasting fast forward old skool hardcore.




Ox fanzine - Germany

cooler old skool-hardcore von hollanden, die schon seit langerem nicht mehr zur schulle gehen solten, ausser vielleicht sie sind lehrer. High-speedend 80`s geknuppel mit einer zusammenhangenden story uber aliens, die die erde uberfallen und nur ausewalhte mitnehmen, zur zucht so zusagen. Witzige idee gut umgesetzt.

Bleiben zwei fragen:
1 was sieht ein hollander, wenn er singt: "I looked at an open field made of grass?"
2 das ding als fulllength album zu verkaufen ist nicht wirklich ernst gemeint, oder?
doc 7 (18-14)




Aardschok April 2001 - Netherlands

Het moest er een keer van komen dat deze old school-mannen met een full length op de proppen zouden komen. Houd je van supersnelle old school hardcore die doorspekt is met punk, dan is Milkman jouw muziek. Deze jongens moeten niets hebben van alle ruisbestuivingen binnen hardcore van de laatste jaren. Geen hiphop, oi- of etalinvloeden, maar keiharde hardcore die je doet denken aan het oude werk van onder andere DRI en Urban Waste. Gelukkig bestaan er nog van die eigenwijze mafkezen (zoals the Butcher) die zich niets aantrekken van trends en precies doen wat ze zelf willen. Als de
kwaliteit van songs als "Friends", "a happy end", "the escape" en "city in flames" dan ook nog perfect is, dan mogen ze van mij nog jaren eigenwijs blijven.

80 punten
Onno Cro-Mag.




Tripleee - Netherlands

Melkboer Inc.
Heb al eerder verteld dat DRI een van mijn favoriete bands is. Nou in Nederland loopt er ook gewoon een DRI rond met behoorlijke punk in hun kloten: Milkman! Vette cd`s, wazige en grappige teksten... helemaal goed!
Deze ouwe rotten in het vak uit Tilburg "know the real deal"! Hun cd knalt hier momenteel dan ook uit mijn boxen! Check ook hun kicken site!
11:48 T

tripleee.net




DP or not DP - Netherlands

Mon 5 Feb 2001: Got new stuff in the mailorder. Especially the Milkman CD blew me away. I had never heard about them, and they are from The Netherlands ! Superfaaaast hardcore on Kangaroo Records, so you know what to expect.

dp-or-not-dp.nl




Fret (april 2001) - Netherlands

Een heus conceptalbum. Dat is Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens van de Tilburgse hardcoreband Milkman. De hoofdrol is weggelegd voor een buitenaards wezen dat zich eerst voordoet als vriendelijk om daarna de mensheid een loer te draaien. Zoiets als Mars Attacks! dus. Gelukkig is het tweede album van Milkman (ooit voortgekomen uit Kutnaam 1001 en SRV) niet zo slecht als deze sterrenfilm met onder anderen Jack Nicholson. De teksten van de vijftien nummers (die gemiddeld zo`n anderhalve minuut duren) zijn grappig en soms vreemd, maar de muziek is zoals we van een echte hardcoreband mogen verwachten: hard en snel. Getuige de foto in het boekje begint het viertal van Milkman al een dagje ouder te worden, maar met dit album kunnen ze weer een aantal jaren vooruit. Fresh Fruit For Rotten Aliens is geen slechte B-film, maar topamusement!

(PvdW)